Frugal and Quick: Delicious, Easy Homemade Vanilla Pudding Recipe for Pennies (No Eggs!)

My family loves pudding, but the powdered and already-made versions are bland, expensive, and not very healthy. I researched recipes and realized just how easy and economical it is to make. I was looking for an egg-free recipe and ran across this one on All Recipes. I had about a cup of milk left in my fridge before going shopping, so I figured I’d experiment by halving the recipe below. It took all of five minutes to make. What an amazingly delicious recipe! Top with homemade whipped cream (whip some sugar and heavy cream until it forms peaks). You’ve got a frugal, quick, healthier and delicious dessert for pennies!

Here’s what the pudding mix looks like when cooking. Looks a bit like white glue! But more delicious than white glue. No lumps because I whisked all ingredients beforehand, poured into pot, then cooked.

Pouring my experimental vanilla pudding into small glasses to be topped later with homemade whipped cream.

Vanilla Pudding Recipe (adapted from All Recipes)

  • 2 cups cold milk (I used Trader Joe’s whole organic milk cut with water and I’ll try almond milk another time)
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 3 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon butter

Put all ingredients into a bowl, except the butter. This step prevents lumps from forming when cooking. Briskly whisk ingredients in bowl. (Next time I plan to use an electric mixer for this step to eliminate every potential lump.) Then, pour  ingredients into pot on medium high heat, whisk more, then wait for bubbling to start. Don’t boil. Add in butter, whisk. Lower heat, keep whisking (it thickens up quickly). Take off of heat, pour into cups/glasses, chill in fridge. Enjoy!

Enjoy! ~Marilyn, TFF